

Audit Committee

Date Thursday 31 May 2012

Time 10.00 am

Venue Committee Room 1A - County Hall, Durham

Business

Part A

Items during which the Press and Public are welcome to attend.

Members of the Public can ask questions with the Chairman's agreement.

- 1. Minutes of the meeting held on 22 March 2012 (Pages 1 8)
- 2. Declarations of interest
- 3. Strategic Risk Management Progress Report for the Quarter period January to March 2012 Report of Corporate Director, Resources (Pages 9 22)
- 4. The Work of Corporate Risk Management April 2011 March 2012 Report of Corporate Director, Resources (Pages 23 30)
- 5. Internal Audit Progress Report Quarter Ended 31 March 2012 Report of Manager of Internal Audit and Risk (Pages 31 38)
- 6. External Audit Durham County Council Audit Plan 2011/12 Report of External Auditor (Pages 39 60)
- 7. Update on Duplicate Payments Report of Corporate Director, Resources (Pages 61 64)
- 8. External Audit Interim Governance Report Pension Fund Report of External Auditor (Pages 65 74)
- 9. External Audit Interim Governance Report Durham County Council Report of External Auditor (Pages 75 110)
- 10. Compliance with International Auditing Standards Report of Manager of Internal Audit and Risk (Pages 111 128)
- 11. Such other business as, in the opinion of the Chairman of the meeting, is of sufficient urgency to warrant consideration.
- 12. Any resolution relating to the exclusion of the public during the discussion of items containing exempt information.

Part B

Items during which it is considered the meeting will not be open to the public (consideration of exempt or confidential information)

- 13. Internal Audit Progress Report Quarter Ended 31 March 2012 Report of Manager of Internal Audit and Risk (Pages 129 156)
- 14. Such other business as, in the opinion of the Chairman of the meeting, is of sufficient urgency to warrant consideration.

Colette Longbottom

Head of Legal and Democratic Services

County Hall Durham 23 May 2012

To: The Members of the Audit Committee

Councillor E Bell (Chairman)
Councillor O Temple (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors C Carr, B Harrison, M Hodgson, L Marshall, B Myers, R Ord and D J Southwell

Co-opted Members:

T Hoban and K Larkin-Bramley

Contact: Ros Layfield Tel: 0191 383 4205